Tags

1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?
My best guess would be the first four books of Robert Elmer’s WWII series “The Young Underground.” I’ve had them since I was nine, I think.

2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?
I’m currently reading The Pen Commandments (for the umpteenth time), having just finished The World As I Remember It: Through The Eyes of a Ragamuffin, Rich Mullins. Next up? I’m not quite sure, but hopefully an interlibrary loan book that I’ve ordered – Ten Circles Upon the Pond: Reflections of a Prodigal Mother. It looks interesting; it’s a memoir by a mother of ten children and since I’m one of many kids, I find books about large families vastly interesting. Oh! And ‘borrowed’ from my sister’s stack: The Missing Book 2: Sent, by Margaret Peterson Haddix.

3. What book did everyone like and you hated?
It technically isn’t a book, but I’m going with Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. I love the bard, but I’ve never been able to understand what it is about this tale of star-crossed lovers that everyone likes. Give me Much Ado About Nothing any day.

4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?
Um, probably a tie between Ivanhoe and Pickwick Papers. Which reminds me that I really should return my man’s copy of PP, as I’ve had it for a year now and I still haven’t finished it…sorry!

5. Which book are you saving for “retirement?”
What’s so wrong with re-reading?

6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?
Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t. If the book is boring me dreadfully, I’ll go to the end to see it’s worth finishing or if it will be a waste of time.

7. Acknowledgments: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?
Most of the time I don’t even bother with them, but sometimes, they can be very witty and interesting.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?
I have so many favorites, I don’t think I can choose one. There’s Rilla Blythe, Attolia, Randy Melendy, Harriet Vane, Emily Starr…

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)?
It’s June and it’s raining, my parents are gone on a trip and I’m Woman of the House while they’re gone. My siblings are watching a movie and I decide to pick up the YA novel with the beautiful green cover. And suddenly, it’s late, the kids are in bed and I’ve finished Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner for the first time. I was officially hooked.

10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way.
My tattered copy of The Girl of the Limberlost came into my possession when we were at the flea market and my mom borrowed a quarter off of me to buy it. When I asked her to pay me back, she handed me the book. I grumbled about it, if I recall correctly, because that was not how my 11 year old self would have spent my quarter. Of course, it was very well spent and I loved the book.

11. Have you ever given a book for a special reason to a special person?
Yes. 🙂

12. Which book has been with you to the most places?
If you mean most places outside of my home, I would say hands-down, my Bible.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad ten years later?
I liked required reading for the most part! And all assigned reading that I didn’t like, I still don’t. Like Christian Liberty’s Mayflower Pilgrims, oh, so dry, and oh, such tiny print.

14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?My sister actually found this one, but it never ceases to make me smile. An inscription on the fly-leaf of a paperback copy of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility, the general gist of which goes something like: “My dear _____, this copy of S&S for you, as you have never read it, but love your Colonel Brandon. Your friend, ______.”

15. Used or brand new?
It’s about half and half. I love Amazon for new books, especially ones by authors I love and absolutely must have once they come out (Megan Whalen Turner, YES ABSOLUTELY).

16. Stephen King: Literary genius or opiate of the masses?
Opiate of the masses. Of course, I haven’t exactly read anything by him, but from what I’ve heard, I don’t think he meets my literary standards.

17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?
Very rarely do I find that I like a movie better than a book, but I’m going to follow my friend Maureen’s lead with another classic Disney movie: Toby Tyler. Did you know that the monkey dies in the book?! Just wrong.

18. Conversely, which book should NEVER have been introduced to celluloid?
Ella Enchanted. Such a delightful, fun fairy-tale. They honestly could have done a decent job of it, I think, but instead of a wimsical twist on a classic fairy-tale, you have a modern movie set in a land of magic, full of innuendo and crazy-fan-girls.

19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?
Oh, Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder, hands down. That book is just full of mouth-watering descriptions of food.

20. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?
I will quite often take advice of close friends, especially By Singing Light

21. Name one book you will never, ever buy.
Love Comes Softly. I’m sorry. I just don’t like Janette Oke!

