Tags

I hurried straight home after work yesterday evening. I was a woman on a mission: eggplant parmesan (sans parm as we only had cheddar – travesty, I know, but there it is, sorry). The eggplant had been sitting in the fridge for days already and I’d already put it off once; both my mom and I had a craving for it, so I had plenty of reasons to make it.

You have to understand, I have a basic knowledge of cooking and baking; I’m pretty comfortable in the kitchen. But I rarely cook dinner for my family anymore. I get out of work later these days and by the time I arrive home, dinner prep is usually already finished. My cooking skills have never been gourmet and, as simple as it turned out to be, eggplant parmesan was a new thing for me to try on my own. Thankfully, I had already gotten an idea of the thing from cooking with my boyfriend’s sister (who is an AMAZING cook – she’s going to be a tough act to follow-up on, LOL!).

It was fun to cook; the kitchen was a mess already from someone who decided to make meatloaf earlier in the day, but I grabbed my apron (everything is so much more fun when you’re wearing something cute), tuned into a country music station and started cooking. Within an hour, I had a pan of eggplant covered in sauce and smothered in cheese baking in the oven and a pot of spaghetti on the stove. Why didn’t I try it sooner – it was so easy and so yummy!

Cooking delicious food, now that brings happiness. Maybe I should make a point of making March a month of good food, too. Now there’s a thought…

