Tags

After a dreadful day at work, combined with bad allergies and problems with my laptop, I texted my boyfriend and asked him, “Just why am I trying to find the good in March?!”

He commiserated, offered advice on the computer problem, but didn’t answer that question and I don’t blame him. 😉 But the question is still there – why am I trying to find happiness this March? Why not give into my usual pessimistic outlook on it?

A quote from the movie Penelope says, “It’s not the power of the curse – it’s the power you give the curse.” In many ways, I think March is much the same. It’s not the power of March that ruins my month, it’s the power that I give it. If I go into March expecting the worst, March will deliver the worst.

So, to answer my own question, I’m trying to make March happy because I refuse to give it power. March is going to be a good month, even if I do get sick, even if I do have troubles at work (actually, I already have, come to think of it…), even if it does turn out to be slushy and cold and muddy – I’m going to do the best that I can to make it happy.

I’m not giving March any power. So there, March!

