Tags

, ,

Life, as of late, has become a blur of dailies with the busyness of life. I breath. I work. I sleep. I drudge.

And somewhere along the way, as I’ve hurried from point A to point B, constantly going, rarely stopping, I feel as though I’ve lost something infinitely precious. There’s a lyric from Suessical the Musical that describes how I’ve always loved to live life:

Horton: When you think, do you dream?

JoJo: In bright colors!

In bright colors.

Life in vivid, brilliant colors. That’s what I want, that’s what I miss. I’m weary these days and barely have time to think frivolous thoughts, much less dream. I feel, to quote another fictional character, “like butter scraped over too much bread.”

I miss the bright colors that come from living life daily with joy. The excitement of what might be around the bend. The briefest snatches I’ve had of it lately have left me craving it more and more. This past Saturday was full of them. Walks in the sunshine, hand in hand with my man. Fresh apple slices and crimping the edges of a pie crust. Laughing outside in the dark because of a slip of a friend’s tongue.

I love the girl who couldn’t stop laughing until her stomach hurt – I’m looking and hoping she’ll make more and more of an appearance now that spring is here. And I’m praying for God to bless me with the ability to find His bright colors here and now, in spite of the drudgery and stress of life right now.

And then there is a time in which to be, simply to be, that time in which God quietly tells us who we are and who he wants us to be. It is then that God can take our emptiness and fill it up with what he wants, and drain away the business with which we inevitably get involved in the dailiness of human living.

– Madeleine L’Engle, Walking on Water

