For over a year I’ve had a certain song lingering in my head. I turned twenty-four last May and found myself listing the lyrics to a song by Switchfoot on my Facebook and in my private journal. A theme song, if you will:

Twenty four oceans/Twenty four skies/Twenty four failures/Twenty four tries/Twenty four finds me/In twenty-fourth place/Twenty four drop outs/At the end of the day/Life is not what I thought it was/Twenty four hours ago

Still I’m singing Spirit take me up in arms with You/And I’m not who I thought I was twenty four hours ago/Still I’m singing Spirit take me up in arms with You…

And You’re raising these twenty four voices/With twenty four hearts/With all of my symphonies/In twenty four parts/But I want to be one today/Centered and true…

My desire was – and still is – to be that: centered and true, one today and all of me…God’s.

This year, I’m turning a quarter of a century (oh yes, ancient!) and I’m looking for my new theme for this year. I’ve been reading bits and pieces of Madeleine L’Engle online and from her books that are in my small library, and I think I’ve found this year’s theme:

“We have to be braver than we think we can be, because God is constantly calling us to be more than we are.”
– Madeleine L’Engle

Sometimes life requires me to brave in ways that most people wouldn’t consider brave. For me, it takes bravery to speak up and say what God is nudging me to say to an unsaved co-worker. It takes bravery for me to send another short story or article to a magazine (I guess you could say fear of rejection is one of my weaknesses). It takes bravery for me to face fears and do something out of my comfort zone.

This year…I want to be braver than ever and do things that God knows I can do, even if I don’t think I can. I want to be more His than mine. It’s exciting and it’s terrifying. It’s something like an adventure and for this girl who hates stepping out of her comfort zone, it’s hard to fathom an adventuresome me.

I’m game though. Let’s see how brave twenty-five will be. After all, a quarter of a century – that sounds adventurous in itself. To use a cliche: Bring it on. πŸ˜€

