After my rambling post about books and a request for reading suggestions, I somehow have ended up with a mammoth list of “to-reads.”

The Four Loves, Surprised By Joy, Reflections on the Psalms by C.S. Lewis
The Blindside, by Michael Lewis
Microbe Hunters, by Paul De Kruif
J.R.R. Tolkien: A Biography, by Humphrey Carpenter
Captivating, by John and Stasi Eldridge

I got a four-in-one treasury by C.S. Lewis, as well as The Blindside for my birthday (Thanks, Mr. & Mrs. P!); I love getting books to add to my library. I look forward to seeing how accurate the movie The Blindside was, and you can never get enough C.S. Lewis (at least in my opinion!). The Tolkien biography and Microbe Hunters was picked up randomly at a local discount store for pretty cheap; I’m pretty stoked about how little I paid for them. Microbe Hunters looks absolutely fascinating, just from paging through it.

I also just finished another fascinating book: The Survivors Club, by Ben Sherwood. The Survivors Club is a club that everyone wants to be a member of. We all want to have what it takes to survive a castrophe or crisis; the question that usually bugs us is…do we have what it takes?

According to Ben Sherwood, the three rules of the Survivors Club are: everyone is a survivor, you can’t compare your crises to other people’s crises, and we’re all stronger than we know. And he pretty much then takes the whole book to give you examples of survivors, ranging from survivors of the Holocaust to survivors of plane crashes and mountain lion attacks. Some reasons for survival are tied into science. Some survivors are just “lucky.” And others say it’s God.

It was a quick read for me; I found it gripping and got through it in a weekend. Did I learn anything? I think so. I try to be more aware of my surroundings and trust my instincts more, be optimistic and think of myself as a survivor. And I’m glad to hear that my belief in God can contribute to my survival chances.

And I don’t think I’ll ever fly again without thinking about how I have a mere 90 seconds to get off the plane after a crash (if I’ve survived the crash itself) before dying in the flames. Did you know that you have a greater chance of survival if you sit within 5 rows of an exit on the plane?

Do I think I have better chances of surviving anything now? I’m not sure. I feel slightly better equipped now. And in the end, if anything beyond the ordinary happens to me and I survive, I have a feeling it will be more to do with my faith in God and love for my family than anything else. That’s where my strengths for survival lie – at least according to the quiz. 😉

