It’s a cold, dreary day that feels altogether too much like the end of September rather than August. It’s all misty outside, the pavement trying to dry out one minute, the skies drizzling the next. It feels cold and damp, even here in the office. And then the fire panel alarm goes off in the foyer, a high-pitched sound reminiscent of a mosquito, but ten times louder. After twenty minutes of buzzing, I’m battling a headache and wishing that I could shoot the stupid alarm. And then the auditors want paperwork from me and the phones are ringing and I’ve got so much in my in-basket and…it’s Monday.

Not quite the best morning on earth.

I’m actually in the middle of working on something with a co-worker when my phone rings. Since I’m too busy to pick it up, a co-worker grabs the call for me. I’m grateful, but promptly forget about it as I bury myself in papers. I’m slightly chagrined when she calls my name across our desks. “Krista, Jackie wants you to stop by the switchboard; she wants to talk to you.”

I’m in the middle of work! A walk out to the switchboard, while a great brief stretch of the legs, isn’t the best use of my time right now! Still, I walk down the hall and to the switchboard and discover…

Flowers. From my guy.

Nope, it’s not my birthday, it’s not an anniversary, he hasn’t done anything to merit sending apology flowers (unless you count not letting me kiss him this weekend for fear of giving me his cold something worth apologizing for, hee!)…

He sent them just because.

(And as everyone who has seen them says, Just Because flowers are the best kind!)

Thanks, darling. I love them. 🙂

Nice bit of sunshine for such a dreary day.

