Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.
– Joe Fox, You’ve Got Mail

Much like the characters from You’ve Got Mail (oh gosh, now I want to watch that movie again!), I always have the urge to go out and buy school supplies once the weather turns changeable: nights and mornings cold enough to require fuzzy socks, but sun-warmed afternoons find your feet warm enough to lose the socks and find the sandals. It’s school supply weather. I wander down the aisle at Wal-Mart and finger edges of fresh notebooks and splurge on my favorite kind of gel-pens. A season of fresh beginnings. I resist the urge to buy a stack of notebooks, one for each of the story ideas that are rattling around my head at the moment.

And it’s book weather and letter weather, too. My bookshelves are a mess with books stacked this way and that; books borrowed, returned and books begun and waiting to be finished another day are sitting right next to pads of paper, envelopes and half-written letters. I’ve paged through and re-read bits of L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Windy Poplars over the last couple days and oh, the urge to write letters has hit me hard. And the time to write said letters? Nowhere to be found. The moments for writing letter are filled with enjoying a brother home from Air Force tech school and decompressing from long work days and trying to catch up with friends in person or over the phone.

Still, I’m going to try tonight. I’ve got a few notecards, a pad of lined yellow paper, the perfect pen and a desire to write, so here’s goes penning a couple newsy epistles.

What does fall weather give you the urge to do?

