Tags

,

Written yesterday, November 2, 2010 – I need to get better about hitting the ‘post’ button after I finish writing. Blame it on the wedding pixies that have taken over my brain. 😉

It’s election day here in the good old US of A. As I write this, I’m wearing a little red, white and blue sticker that proudly proclaims that I VOTED and the imprint of needle beneath a band-aid on my left arm. “VOTE & VAC!” scream signs all over town, so like the good little lemming that I am (not really – I’ve been trying to get flu shot for the last month!), I went and did both. Voting and vaccinations. I wonder how people who lived a hundred years ago would’ve reacted at such thing: shots that help prevent the influenza and nobody batting an eye when a woman walks into the town hall to vote.

Amazing.

(And any lurking readers out there who are anti-vac, please, please don’t leave me horror stories about flu vacs gone wrong [I have a vivid imagination and do want to sleep tonight] or give me a lecture on how I should just let my body’s immune system fight it off. Last year was the first year I got the flu vac and also the first in four years that I didn’t catch the flu. Perhaps it is a coincidence, but I’m game to try repeating such a happy coincidence!

Also any anti-feminism/votes-for-women readers…spare me the lectures on how women have wreaked havoc on America since they got the vote. It really irks me when that happens and at that point I started calling myself something like a ‘white-washed feminist’ and other silly names just because I’ve gone all prickely. Kthxbai!)

I’m going to steer clear of politics today, but viruses? They’re a little on my mind at the moment. Colds are going around at work at the moment and hand sanitizer is my desk bestie. And so, when I saw Achoo! The Uncommon Life of Your Common Cold by Jennifer Ackerman sitting in the new book display at the library, I was definitely intrigued. It came home with me and so far it’s definitely a fun read. I know, I know, the common cold, a fun topic? For this geekish girl, it is!

So, that’s in my current reads stack, along with Boundaries in Marriage and The Intimate Marriage(can you see a common theme going on here?!). Next to that stack is my “to-read” list which consists of Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner (re-read), Joker One by Donovan Campbell (new) and A Novel Bookstore by Laurence Cosse(new). The last two titles jumped off the shelf at the library into my arms along with Achoo!. My addiction is ongoing, I fear.

What books are you reading at the moment? Do you have any in a to-read stack?

