Tags

,

It’s officially November, which to some people means Thanksgiving, but to others (like my sister) November means NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). As my dear sister pointed out to me yet again this year, as she has for the last three years in a row, she has won NaNoWriMo for the last two years and plans to again this year, while I, her older sister, haven’t won yet once. I told her bemusedly that I have a few higher priorities this year, like planning a wedding, that would interfere with letting a novel consume my life for a month.

Still, there is a bit of me that is wistfully thinking how much fun it would be to write like crazy for a month and how good it would feel to actually, maybe-hmm, just finish a novel-length story for once in my life. Maybe I should just start scribbling and plotting again…

But then I think about everything that needs to be done by the spring and I feel more like hiding under the blankets on my bed and procrastinating on everything than I feel like taking on another project. 😉 So – no NaNoing for me, this year. I’ll just keep plugging away at my few blog posts, my Thanksgiving cards and the wedding planning. Who knows? Maybe next year will be the year for NaNoWriMo and me (somehow I doubt it though).

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year? What is your novel about? How is your family coping since you’ve been sucked into the black abyss of writing 50,000 words in 30 days?

