Wednesday.
(for some reason that word always reminds me of Winnie-the-Pooh)

Halfway through the week.
(definitely requires caffeine)

Two more days until Saturday, a day of rest and worship
(it feels so far away)

Today, I’m a mix of things.
(so many things!)

I am lazy and impatient, anxious and discontented, antsy and exhausted, hungry and full, hopeful and pessimistic, excited and afraid.
(no, I am not emotional – what gave you that idea?!)

And buried beneath this tidal wave of emotions is a desire, a longing for something.

I could pretend that it’s a longing for a change of scenery, as I look at photos from my co-worker’s vacation. Or maybe it’s just a desire for quiet and time away from my co-workers. It could be a longing for talent, for the chance and ability to write something perfect, to succeed at something beautiful and worthwhile with my pen. I could try to convince myself that it’s just a longing for my man and that once we’re married, this longing will be quenched and satisfied.

But it’s not.

And I cannot convince myself with these reasons, these excuses.

This longing goes deeper. It’s an ache that won’t be quenched.

Knowing you, Jesus, knowing you –
There is no greater thing…

I want Him. I want love and life forever with Him. I want a relationship with Him. I want a love for Him that can never be quenched, never will die and never will get choked out by the distractions in my life. I want to stop feeling tired and apathetic about loving Him. I want out of this rut of pretending that it’s other things and other reasons. I want this love, this desire, this spark to thrive. I want it to grow.

I want Him.

What can be more precious or desirable than that?

Nothing.

Knowing you, Jesus, knowing you –
There is no greater thing.
You’re my all, you’re the best,
You’re my joy, my righteousness,
And I love you, Lord…

It’s Wednesday.

It’s the middle of the week.

Two more work days until Sabbath.

I don’t care. I’m not waiting.

Worship on Wednesday. And Thursday. And Friday. And Shabbat.

Yes. Every day:

I love you, Lord.


P.S. Today is a blustery, gustery “Winds-day,” and I still cannot get Winnie-the-Pooh out of my head. ❤ I was going to do some shopping tonight, but I've decided to stay home where it's warm and dry. Shopping can wait until tomorrow night. 🙂

