We had friends over for dinner several nights ago and over the course of the evening, I got to talking about wedding plans with Doris, an old family friend. My nine year old brother, Nate, plopped down on the couch next to me and joined in on conversation with us now and then. Doris wanted to know what he thought of all these wedding plans.

I looked at him. “You know I’m getting married, right?”

“Yeah,” he said.

“And I’ll be moving out with Tyson, right?”

“Uh-huh.” He stared off into space with a strange look on his face for a moment. He almost looked sad. In fact, as Doris said, it almost looked like he was thinking about how much he was going to miss me. “Aw, he’s going to miss his big sister!”

Nate, lost in his own thoughts, didn’t seem to hear her remark. He sighed heavily and tore his eyes away from the distance. It was a perfect sentimental moment. My little brother was sad about me leaving! He was going to miss me!

And then he looked at Doris and said, wistfully, “Yeah, and when she moves out she’s taking Toy Story 3 with her.”

So nice to know exactly what he’ll miss when I’m gone! 😉

