A couple years ago, I decided that I need to revamp my wardrobe. It was tired, it was old and a lot of it wasn’t me. To help inspire me and make it more fun, I decided to make a project of it and post about it on a blog (much more private one) that I had at the time. I called it Fashion 2008 and had a blast mixing and matching clothes into outfits as I slowly added new pieces to my wardrobe, from both thrift stores and new.

Now…I’m feeling inspired by two dear friends and fellow bloggers, Elisabeth @ Hope Scribbles and Nicole @ Simple Moments, and their posts on fashion and clothes. Elisabeth has a fun series going about denim skirts that I got to participate in and Nicole is constantly posting awesome ensembles and great shopping-on-a-dime tips.

So I’m going to try out a project. It’s along the same lines as my Fashion 2008 project, but with a twist: I’m going to try to create outfits out of what I already own, or if it’s a ‘new’ piece of clothing, it has to come from the clearance rack or the thrift store. (Wedding bills and building a house have got me on a low budget!) I have a feeling it will be good for me, since I’ve fallen into the habit of wearing the same outfits over and over again – not to mention how much fun it will be playing around with my clothes. I can’t wait to see what new and interesting combinations I can come up with. 🙂

So…let’s get started on Fashion 2011!

What tips do you have for making your wardrobe work when you’re on a budget?

