Tags

, ,

After running a few errands, my fiancé and I found ourselves in the car with rumbling stomachs. Our choices were limited due to a budget and the lack of a ready kitchen of our own (soon though!). And so it was that we found ourselves waltzing into the small market in the town that I’ll soon call home. Being in a rather happy-hyper mood, I found myself exclaiming as we got out of the car, “Oh, I love how things just feel so small-townish around here!”

My man, who has lived here all his life, laughed. “I’m glad you like it, honey. There certainly isn’t much to it!”

And he’s right. There honestly isn’t too much to the center of town, but what there is of it is typical New England and pretty. Brick buildings on Main street. The town hall and a small museum. A hardware store and the pub. The bank and the market. The library just up the road a bit and a few shops here and there. Yes, there’s not much in town; most residents commute outside of town for work, so there’s very little to do within the town limits.

But, I rather do like the small town atmosphere and feeling to it. I love how the market in town is a small grocery, where the current sales are still advertised paper posters held up with clips inside glass boxes outside the door. I love how door to enter the building isn’t automatic and the checkout lanes are all mini-conveyor belts. It feels small…and personal. I know small towns can sometimes feel too small and too personal (goodness knows the town where I live isn’t small and yet the gossip feels distinctly small-town!), but I like the atmosphere and feeling. I like being able to wave to various people that I know as we drive past each other and I love recognizing more and more faces in the crowds on Memorial Day and the Fourth of July.

It will be an adjustment, as everything will be, but I’m looking forward to it. Yes, I think so. As much as I’ll miss my old home, I’m hoping and planning to like this tiny New England town. One of the first things on my to-do list once we’ve settled into married life? Get a library card. I’m always at home in a library and being able to access free books is love in my world.

