Tags

, ,

Wednesday found my fiancé texting me the following: Ah, the sun is shining, the birds are singing, am working outside without gloves…a foot of snow is on the way…ah…yes, it is spring. 🙂

I wish I could say it’s an April Fool’s joke, but unfortunately – unless all the meteorologists are in cahoots with a massive ‘gotcha!’ in store for the masses – it would appear to be very much Not A Joke. Predicted: Snow?! On April 1st?! And possibly as much as a foot?! Oh, the cruelty stings.

So, it’s back to the winter boots, make sure the gloves and scarf on the radiator to warm and grit our teeth and hope and pray that this snow, however much we get, won’t last. We’ve got exactly 30 days until May and I was hoping for some spring flowers and a bit of green in the world for our wedding day. Maybe if April comes in like a lion, it will go out like a lamb? Or does that only work for March?

And oh dear me, the number of people who have told me lately, “You know, we’ve had snow in May before!” in such chipper tones that have me waffling between wanting to cry and laugh or roll my eyes. All I have to say is, if it snows May 1st, it will most definitely be a memorable wedding!

