Tags

, ,

The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began...
– J.R.R. Tolkien

We went a’wandering on summer Saturday and found ourselves on back roads just outside of town. I remember going on car drives with my brothers and sister, when there were only about five of us and we still fit in a mini-van. I remember getting carsick and I remember fighting over window seats and coming home with headaches. I don’t absolutely remember them as FUN, adventurous, definitely, especially if we were headed out on vacation, but never the epitome of fun.

Today, however? Well, it’s just me and the husband and we drive wherever we want. I don’t get quite as carsick anymore (unless I have to look at a map, but that’s why they made the GPS!) and sunglasses really help prevent headaches. And I’m with someone I like a lot a lot and we don’t fight over the seats – I prefer that he drive and I photograph things passing by.

Yes, car rides are much more fun today. 😉

