Tags

, , ,

It’s autumn here in New England and it. is. absolutely. gorgeous.

We have scarlet, orange and yellow hued leaves, incredibly vivid against the blue sky. There’s a crispness to the air in the morning when I drive to work, but by the afternoon, we have delicious Indian summer weather warmth. Pumpkins in the fields and apples ripe from the trees.

I love this time of the year. I get the urge to bake and cook up a storm – pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, apple pie and chicken noodle soup – and I get the urge to make our home all autumny: quilts on the bed and twinkle lights on the beams… It’s almost as though I must have some of the beauty of the outdoors inside too, just so we can enjoy fall all the time.

So, I try my hand at decorating our home with little things:

faux leaves and orangy carnations, candy corn and sugar pumpkin

books (of course), an orangy leaf and a candle lantern (oh how I love candles and lanterns!)

How have you welcomed autumn into your home?

