Tags

, , ,


My mind is swimming with thoughts about turkeys and gravy boats, pecan pies and family getting together. Why? Well, because my husband and I are hosting Thanksgiving dinner with his family this year. It’s our first attempt ever, my first attempt to do it solo. I do believe that my co-workers think I’m a little crazy.

Honestly, when I decided to attempt this feat, I didn’t think it was that insane of an idea. Turkey dinner? I’ve helped out with turkey dinner so many times at my parents’ house. I even oversaw a good chunk of the preparations two years ago for my brother’s going-away party. Even gravy doesn’t scare me – I made it all the time at my parents’.

And then it dawned on me. This is the first time I’ve hosted it. The first time I’ve been responsible for how EVERYTHING turns out. What if the turkey is dry? What if the gravy is lumpy? What if I don’t get the timing right on everything – the potatoes are done long before the turkey is ready, etc.? WHAT IF MY FIRST ATTEMPT IS A FAIL?!

>>pauses for breath<<

Anyhow. After a momentary spazz attack, I’ve calmed down and while I’m still a little nervous, I’m really excited at the same time. I’ve got a turkey in the freezer and a to-do list about a mile long, but it’s going to so much fun. It’s going to be a bunch of firsts for me: first time hosting Thanksgiving dinner. First time making pecan pie.

(And along with the pecan pie-making, add another first to the list: first time I went into the liquor store and bought bourbon! For the pecan pie, of course, but still, it made me chuckle at myself and my total ignorance regarding liquor. It’s whiskey? Seriously?!)

In all honesty, I’m really excited about doing Thanksgiving dinner this year, but at the same time feel strange about it. It’s a new change, something different for us. This is the first Thanksgiving apart from my family and the first Thanksgiving that his sister won’t be around. To be honest, Thanksgiving spread is more Addy’s forte than mine and it just feels strange that I’m cooking it for the family and she isn’t…and even sadder, she and her husband won’t be here to celebrate with us. Last year, we missed my brother at Thanksgiving as he spent the first one away from home in the military. And this year, we have another gap at both my family’s home (me!) and his family’s home (Addy & Colin). Why is it that changes always seem to bring a bittersweet flavor to our lives?

Anyhow. Thanksgiving. Dinner. I’m cooking it. What are you doing for Thanksgiving this year?

