Tags

, ,

It’s been a long week and I’m tired. The funeral is tomorrow. Needless to say, I won’t be working. As awful as it sounds (seeing how the day off is to go to a funeral), I’m glad for the respite from the office and the stress of it all. You know the movie Groundhog Day? That’s I feel at work sometimes; the problems just linger and when you get up in the morning to go to work, nothing has changed. It’s the same thing over and over again, rinse and repeat.

I need to stop talking about work. I spend so much time there these days, it tends to be the main topic in my head, especially since I’m currently trying not to think too much about other things, otherwise I just fall apart and cry again. And so I ramble on about quirky co-workers and kvetch about the latest development with problems and…yeah, I think I’ll stop for now. Subject change!

I have been reading bits and pieces of Elizabeth Elliot’s Passion and Purity. I think I have a slight hate/love relationship with that book. She says a lot of good things, but at the same time, rubs me entirely the wrong way. I’m still trying to pinpoint exactly why; perhaps it’s her black-and-white way of writing things. Perhaps it’s because she comes across as always so self-assured and certain in her journal entries. She talks about struggling with impatience and with trust, but at the same time, there never seems to be a wavering in a desire to trust. Plus, she and Jim just seem a little too…perfect.

Maybe I’ve just picked the wrong book of hers to start with. Any other suggestions? Or, if you aren’t an Elizabeth Elliot fan, do you have any non-fiction suggestions? Something that isn’t too heavy, as my brain is usually fried by the computer screen by the time I’ve gotten home for the day and have time to pick up a book!