Tags

,

As I mentioned in my review of The Thief, I first got hooked on the Attolia series when I borrowed The Queen of Attolia from the library. The pretty green cover displayed in the young adult section of our library piqued my interest. It went in my stack of books and came home with me. I thought it might be a fun read, after I got through the rest of the books in my stack.

I don’t think I even touched any of the other books in my stack before finishing it. The first few chapters left me reeling as if I’d been punched. The storyline was not what I expected at all and I wondered if I would like this Queen of Attolia at all (I have to say despite being intrigued by the pretty cover, I didn’t realize what the woman in the green dress was holding until several chapters into the book, which made the twist in the plotline all the more intriguing for me). I was quickly sucked into the story and finished it in nearly one sitting, staying up late to finish the last few chapters.

When the queen of Attolia catches Eugenides spying on her in her own palace, everyone assumes his fate will be death by hanging. Instead, she resorts to an ancient practice and the thief’s hand is cut off, rendering him incapable – or so everyone assumes – of practicing his vocation ever again. Gen is returned home, crushed and depressed as he struggles with adjusting to life without his hand. Meanwhile, Attolia walks the tightrope of maintaining her throne in a country where her barons would see her dethroned and the visiting ambassador of the Medes has his own agenda at stake in his visit. Plus there’s the war raging between Eddis and Attolia all because of Gen’s hand…add the country of Sounis who wants a piece of Attolia and wishes to treaty with Eddis…

And you have a story of political intrigue, adventure, redemption and well, yes, even love that will keep you guessing and keep you reading until the last page (which happens to be one of my favorite parts!). Megan Whalen Turner is a genius. She has a talent for marrying words that leaves me reading bits and pieces over and over again. Yes, I admit that I’m re-reading it for the hundred time!